Name Selected For Scout Area

(Special Staff Correspondence)

JOSHUA TREE, Jan. 22 — Joshua Monument District was adopted as the official name of the new Boy Scout District of arrowhead area Council organized in this area. It includes the communities of Joshua Tree, Twentynine Palms, Pioneertown, Yucca Valley and Morongo valley.

The name was selected at the meeting of adult volunteer workers at Joshua Tree Lodge. Joseph Wesserburger, executive vice-president of the Joshua National bank, was elected district chairman.

Other officers named were Curtis Buch of Pioneertown, vice-chairman, and C.C. Brown of Yucca valley, District Commissioner.

Members-at-large elected were Frank H. Bagley, Edward J. Kenney and Robert Van Lahr, Twentynine Palms; C. A. Mitchell, John Duncan and Kenneth Stockwell, Joshua Tree; Claude Guinan and Edward Hardesstry, Yucca Valley; Ben Tunstall and William Briedge, Pioneertown; and Thomas Hopgood and Dure F. Secrist, Morongo valley. Alan Livingstone and D.F. Geil of Morongo valley chamber of commerce were named as institutional representatives.

Operating Committee appointments announced were: Mr. Stockwell, organization and expansion; Mr. Bagley and Mr. Tunstall, leadership training; Mr. Hopgood, Mr. Van Lahr and Mr. Briedge, camping and activities; Mr. Duncan and Mr. Secrist, Finance; And Mr. Kenney, advancement.

Robo Gallery: You didn’t select any Robo Gallery item in editor. Please select one from the list or create new gallery
Jan. 23, 1949 - The San Bernardino County Sun

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!